New to a vegan diet and not a big fan of raw veggies

I am very new to a vegan diet (chose to go vegan for ethical reasons - I cannot support the way animals are treated in the farming industry)…to me, going vegetarian wasn’t enough so I have eliminated all meat, fish, poultry, milk, eggs, cheese, etc. from my diet. The challenge I have is, I am not a big fan of raw veggies; I like them cooked, fried, etc., but not raw. I once heard somewhere that cooking depletes the nutritional value of the vegetables…is that true? And if so, any ideas on what I can do to get around having to eat raw vegetables?

I have stocked up on soya milk, beans, peas, lentils, whole wheat pasta, etc., but want to ensure I am getting the right nutritional mix.

Dawn
Ontario, Canada

Hi,
Congrats on choosing a vegan diet. I have not done much research into a raw food diet, but I would imagine that it is possible for some nutrients to degrade at a certain temperature. I would also guess that the majority of nutrients do not disappear so I wouldn’t be too concerned about cooking your veggies. I also think there was an article I read somewhere that said tomatoes only release a certain nutrient when they are cooked, so there may be some advantages to cooking some vegetables. I always cook my broccoli because for some reason when I eat it raw it make my tongue numb. To make sure you are getting all of your nutritional needs, keep a food journal and then adjust accordingly.

Cooking vegetables is fine.
Boiling them isn’t as good as a lot of the nutrients can end up in the water you drain, but if you use the water no problem there.
I suggest you make vegetables soups and curries if you’re struggling to get enough veg.
Also try to eat:
beans (great in curries)
chickpeas
nuts
lentils
seeds
dried fruit (especially figs for calcium)
bananas and berries.

Are you worried about any particular nutrients you think you may be lacking?
Always have a varied diet.