So new I don't know WHAT to do :)

Hello. I’m Corri. I’m from Portland Oregon and I’m ready to start a vegan life but don’t know where to go. So I found this site and hope that I can learn some things. I am a natural health lover but have always eaten meat. It’s just always been so. My ND told me recently that I am not suppose to eat dairy. It’s been the hardest change I’ve ever tried to do…and failed horribly. When eating or cooking meat lately I’ve thanked the animal that gave it’s life for me to eat, then with the light of the treatment of the cows in california coming to “light” I’ve decided it’s time to make the change. I just don’t know how! Any advice or suggestions or thoughts that you have for me would be fantastic!

Hi Corrihar!

Sounds like you’re already halfway there! :wink:

I became vegan by making small changes:

When I was a student, I started bulking out my meals with vegetables, to save money on meat! I learned to cook things like curries, casseroles, pasta sauces.

Then I cut out meat, and replaced it with meat substitutes - vege-sausages, soy mince, vegetarian pizza, that kind of thing.

Then I cut down on dairy. This was easy except for cheese! :laughing: Vegan mayonnaise and soy milks are nice, but fake cheese is awful! I was vegan during the week, and then “rewarded” myself with an ovo-lacto meal at the weekend.

Then I got fed up with spending all my money on meat substitutes! So I started cooking more, and learning about nutrition. You can cook many vegan meals from scratch easily, it doesn’t need to be time-consuming - dishes like stir-fry or steamed vegetables and tofu, lentil soup, pasta… I also cook a large meal most weekends, instead of eating out.

Then I finally cut out dairy, although I lapsed a few times… I’m always learning, and sometimes there are embarrassing situations where a food you think is vegan turns out not to be, or you get served something with dairy in when you eat out :imp: